Travels

Quintessential english town: Ashford

*in italiano dopo le foto*

One day the italian guys and I decided to go shopping in Ashford. Well, I persuaded them to go shopping. When the mall closed (poor guys, they waited for me for ages) we went to the town centre for a walk. We ended up in some narrow streets that encircled an ancient church, st. Mary’s (13th century). This was totally unplanned and unexpected. The sun was going down and so only the highest tower was illuminated and we were the only people there, it was sort of magical. 

I was so focused on looking around and taking photos that I lost my friends. At a certain point I saw a small door on the side of the church. I opened it and I found a narrow spiral staircase. I was going upstairs and when I had almost reached the top of one of the towers I heard someone calling me. This old men invited me to enter a room where there was a bunch of people sit and some others where pulling ropes from the ceiling. Apparently I had just joined a bell ringers reunion! hahah 

I have to admit that the old man scared me when he called me. Imagine yourself all alone in this ancient tower and then someone yelling at you all of a sudden! 😱 😨 But at least he didn’t grab my calf as he did with my friend and at least I didn’t scream like him hahah 

This “visit” was probably one of the weirdest things that happened to me during this month, and also one of the funniest! haha 

Thanks for reading, Alis xx

CIMG5924 (2)
The cute houses close to the graveyard
CIMG5913 (2)
The graveyard that encircles the curch
CIMG5918 (2)
The tower

CIMG5919 (2)

CIMG5925 (2)
a view of St. Mary’s church
CIMG5930 (2)
More gravestones

CIMG5933CIMG5934 (2)

CIMG5950 (2)
the bell ropes

 

CIMG5973 (2)
“As the sun goes down”

Un giorno i ragazzi italiani ed io abbiamo deciso di andare a fare shopping ad Ashford. Anzi, li ho convinti ad andare a fare shopping. Quando il centro commerciale ha chiuso (poveri, mi hanno aspettato per un’eternità) siamo andati verso il centro della città. Dopo un po’ ci siamo ritrovati a camminare per delle stradine strette che circondavano una chiesa antica, la chiesa di S.Mary (13° secolo). Non ci aspettavamo assolutamente di finire in un posto del genere. Il sole stava tramontando e quindi solo la torre più alta era illuminata e non c’era nessuno a parte noi, l’atmosfera era magica.

Ero così concentrata nel guardarmi attorno e fare foto che ho perso i miei amici. Mentre li cercavo ho visto una piccola porta sul lato della chiesa, l’ho aperta ed ho trovato una stretta scala a chiocciola. Ho cominciato a salire e quando avevo quasi raggiunto la cima ho sentito qualcuno che mi chiamava. Era un signore anziano che mi invitava ad entrare in una stanza in qui c’erano delle persone sedute ed altre in piedi che tiravano delle corde che uscivano dal soffitto. A quanto pare ero finita in una riunione di campanari! ahah

Ad essere sincera mi sono abbastanza spaventata quando il vecchio ha urlato per chiamarmi. Immaginatevi di salire una scala a chiocciola in una torre antica, da soli, e poi sentire qualcuno urlarvi da dietro all’improvviso! 😱 😨 Almeno non mi ha afferrato il polpaccio come ha fatto col mio amico e almeno io non ho urlato come lui! ahah

Questa “visita” è stata probabilmente una delle cose più strane che mi sono successe in questo mese, ed anche una delle più divertenti! haha

Grazie per aver letto, Alis xx

Leave a Reply

